10 Key Tips on Answering Behavioral Type Questions

If I was to explain to you the best way of answering behavioral type interview questions I would sum it up in a couple of words, “telling a story”. It’s about telling someone, you have just met for the first time, a little story about something special in your life that happened not long ago. Usually this story is about an  experience at work that you felt was special or a unique representation of  your abilities. Think about this for a minute and you will realise that we do this all the time over lunch,  dinner and at special occasions when we meet our friends and new people. If you want to be good at behavioral interviews then start by being yourself and pretend you are telling a good story to a friend. You will see that the pressure normally associated with such interviews will no longer hinder your performance overall and will offer you the ability to have a better dialogue with the interviewer. Here are 14 key tips on answering behavioral type interviews you should consider:

  1. Refer to an achievement in your resume when answering behavioral type questions
  2. If your response refers to a major project you were part of, break it down into smaller phases in a clear and concise manner when responding
  3. Be specific about your role in each situation
  4. Don’t talk just to fill up dead air…take a minute to collect your thoughts and organise your answer before replying
  5. Use statistics or other measures in your response to back up the information you have provided
  6. Always turn a negative situation into a positive
  7. Always reflect on your ability to work as part of a team and to look for solutions to problems
  8. Show examples where you have done more than expected
  9. Prepare your responses to common behavioral questions before attending the interview
  10. Explain what you learned from each experience.

Remember, that you are telling a short story of a specific situation from the beginning to the end, and it is not uncommon for a good answer to take up to 5-10 minutes. Ask the interviewer if he/she would like more detail.

33 thoughts on “10 Key Tips on Answering Behavioral Type Questions

  1. How to meet new people online

    I am extremely inspired together with your writing abilities and also with the layout in your weblog. Is that this a paid topic or did you customize it your self? Anyway keep up the nice quality writing, it’s uncommon to peer a nice blog like this one today..

    Reply
    1. Anthony Ranieri Post author

      Thank you so much for your message. I pleased you enjoyed my post and its great to get such feedback.I write all my articles independently and I designedthe layout and content.

      Feel free to follow me in wordpress so you can receive more posts of similar topic in future. You can also join me in twitter @jobwebaus

      Regards
      Anthony

    1. Anthony Ranieri Post author

      Thank you so much for your message. I pleased you enjoyed my post and its great to get such feedback.

      Feel free to follow me in wordpress so you can receive more posts of similar topic in future. You can also join me in twitter @jobwebaus

      Regards
      Anthony

    1. Anthony Ranieri Post author

      Thank you so much for your message. I pleased you enjoyed my post and its great to get such feedback.

      Feel free to follow me in wordpress so you can receive more posts of similar topic in future. You can also join me in twitter @jobwebaus

      Regards
      Anthony

    1. Anthony Ranieri Post author

      Thank you so much for your message. I pleased you enjoyed my post and its great to get such feedback.

      Feel free to follow me in wordpress so you can receive more posts of similar topic in future. You can also join me in twitter @jobwebaus

      Regards
      Anthony

    1. Anthony Ranieri Post author

      Thank you so much for your message. I pleased you enjoyed my post and its great to get such feedback.

      Feel free to follow me in wordpress so you can receive more posts of similar topic in future. You can also join me in twitter @jobwebaus

      Regards
      Anthony Ranieri

    2. Anthony Ranieri Post author

      Thank you so much for your message. I pleased you enjoyed my post and its great to get such feedback.

      Feel free to follow me in wordpress so you can receive more posts of similar topic in future. You can also join me in twitter @jobwebaus

      Regards

  2. wTlE3EgPTPhj3K

    327299 627434Hi there, just became aware of your weblog by way of Google, and identified that it is genuinely informative. Im gonna watch out for brussels. Ill be grateful in case you continue this in future. A lot of men and women is going to be benefited from your writing. Cheers! 78518

    Reply
  3. seo tool

    Someone essentially assist to make seriously posts I would state.
    That is the very first time I frequented your website page and
    to this point? I surprised with the research you made
    to create this actual submit extraordinary.
    Wonderful job!

    Reply
  4. Abel Monsma

    I just want to say I am just newbie to blogs and really liked you’re page. Probably I’m going to bookmark your blog . You actually come with amazing articles and reviews. Thanks a lot for sharing your web page.

    Reply
  5. Andrew A. Sailer

    I simply want to say I am new to blogging and site-building and definitely savored you’re blog. Most likely I’m likely to bookmark your blog . You really have fabulous articles. Thanks for sharing your blog site.

    Reply
  6. Alva Stavros

    I simply want to tell you that I am all new to weblog and truly loved your page. Very likely I’m likely to bookmark your site . You amazingly have excellent writings. Thanks a bunch for sharing with us your website page.

    Reply
  7. Gregory Despain

    I simply want to say I am very new to weblog and certainly liked this web site. More than likely I’m going to bookmark your blog post . You amazingly come with superb writings. Thank you for sharing your blog.

    Reply
  8. refencement google

    Heya superb website! Does running a blog similar to this take a massive amount work?

    I have very little expertise in computer programming however I had been hoping to
    start my own blog in the near future. Anyhow,
    if you have any ideas or tips for new blog owners please share.
    I understand this is off subject but I just wanted to ask.
    Thanks!

    Reply
    1. Anthony Ranieri Post author

      Hi

      Thanks for your note. I started my blog without any help. I used the resources available in WordPress. However, its helps if you can visualise what you want to achieve in terms of content, layout and design. Content is about because you want to blog about something your expert in and others will appreciate.

      I hope that helps
      Anthony

  9. Chung Maritn

    I’m still learning from you, as I’m trying to reach my goals. I absolutely liked reading everything that is written on your website.Keep the stories coming. I liked it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

